The Speciality Coffee Association of Europe was started in 1998 by a small group of representatives from the speciality coffee world. Their mission was to develop a forum for exchanging information and promotion through education for the participants of the coffee industry who share a commitment to quality.

The Speciality Coffee Association of Europe is a membership association with over 2,000 members in more than 75 countries in Europe and the rest of the world, all with a passion for making a better coffee world through education, exchange of knowledge and networking. Our core ethos is to improve quality at all levels of the chain, from cultivation to the consumer; we promote certification, sustainability, and ethical trading in order to achieve that. We are a not-for-profit organisation and any surplus we make is invested back into the industry we serve.


The SCAE Coffee Diploma System is the most comprehensive coffee education system available and the most extensively awarded coffee certification in the world. If you are a barista wanting to advance your skills, want to become a roaster, trade in green coffee, perfect your sensory skills, or just brew great coffee then the diploma has a module applicable for you.

The Coffee Diploma System offers an introductory module followed by modules in five core areas of coffee:
• Introduction to Coffee (10 points)
• Green Coffee • Sensory Skills
• Roasting
• Brewing
• Barista Skills

Each of the five core modules offers qualifications at three levels:
• Foundation (5 points)
• Intermediate (10 points)
• Professional (25 points)